The Early Years Foundation Stage

The Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) is currently a programme of learning that the government imposes, but crucially we are not constrained by it and we are able to interpret it using our professional judgment.

Our Lower Kindergarten (Nursery) and Kindergarten (Reception) classes meet all the requirements of the Early Years Foundation Stage (EYFS) but work to higher levels of attainment than are expected nationally. Teaching is provided by the graduate-led and highly experienced EYFS team with specialist support provided for music, sport and ICT.

Lower Kindergarten

Lower Kindergarten is our nursery class for children aged 3-4 years EYFS.

From the age of three learning at Froebelian is about curiosity, exploring, and beginning to understand the world at large; it is also about having fun! The experienced teachers and teaching assistants help our children to enjoy learning, to appreciate the excitement of discovery and the very real pleasure in developing new skills.

The children are also helped to develop self-discipline, early study skills and tenacity as these are all key qualities that will equip them to become effective learners as they grow up.

Based around the EYFS there are seven areas of learning, divided into three prime areas; Communication and Language, Physical Development and Personal, Social and Emotional Development and four specific areas; Literacy, Mathematics, Understanding the World and Expressive Arts and Designs.

The children learn through topic-based work, which change every half term.

Click here to view – Lower Kindergarten Inside and Out

The best things about Froebelian, by our children in Lower Kindergarten:


“Writing letters.”

“Playing with the Duplo.”

“Playing in the sand tray.”

“Sports Day.”

“Going on a bear hunt to look for bears around the school.”

“Baking cakes and eating them.”

“Playing with the wild animals.”

“The ballet dancing.”

Find out about learning in Kindergarten