The School Council is the governing body with ultimate responsibility for the school.

Froebelian School Governors

To contact the Chair of Governors write to:

Mr Simon Bickerton, Chair of Governors, The Froebelian School, Clarence Road, Horsforth, Leeds, LS18 4LB or email

Our Governors are directors of a company limited by guarantee (The Froebelian School (Horsforth) Ltd) and trustees of a charity (The Froebelian School, registration number 529111). On a day-to-day basis, most of their responsibility is delegated to the Headteacher, who also serves as chief executive.

The Council normally meets four times each year and more frequently if necessary. They receive reports from the Headteacher and Finance and Operations Manager, review the progress of the school and provide advice regarding strategic matters. Council members also take a close interest in the work of the school and through visits, attending functions and reading newsletters, reports etc, they are familiar with the daily life of the school.

Learn more about our Governors

The Chair of the School Council – Mr Simon Bickerton is a retired dentist, now back in the NHS helping with the vaccination programme. His three children are all past pupils at Froebelian. Away from work, Simon enjoys tennis and conservation projects.

Vice Chair, Mr Ravi Naru BSc. MCOptom, is an optometrist who has two children, both former Froebelian pupils.

Mrs Rosey James, now retired, is the former Headteacher of Westville School.

Mrs Helen Forshaw BSc MBA has three children who are all past Froebelian pupils.

Mr Richard Taylor BSc MSc is a former MD and business consultant. He has two daughters who both attended Froebelian and have embarked on professional careers.

Mr Simon Dalingwater MRICS is a Chartered Surveyor and Property Agent with a Practice based in Horsforth. He has two young children who currently attend Froebelian.

Mr Malcolm Jones LLB is a commercial lawyer and former pupil whose three children all attended and benefitted greatly from the Froebelian – and (he keeps being reminded) a guitarist in the Froebelian parent’s band, ‘the Froebers’.

Mrs Cathryn Jane Johnson B.ED is a retired teacher of physical education at Fulneck, Leeds Girls High School and The Grammar School at Leeds.

Mrs Christine Davidson is a retired doctor having worked initially as a General Practitioner and latterly as a Community Gynaecologist. She has three sons.

Mrs Sylvia Brett BA MA is Principal of the Harrogate Ladies’ College family of schools.  Having been a prep school teacher in a former life, she is passionate about creative and innovative learning from the earliest age; she also loves the ‘sparkle and shine’ of our youngest learners.

Mr Rob Southwood was Froebelian’s neighbourhood policing team officer for ten years and a familiar face at many school assembies. When moving on to pastures new, he maintained his contact and fondness for the school by joining the School Council.

Mrs Jaspal De-Viell – is a current parent of two children, one in Remove and one in Form III